The EuroVelo network of cycling routes in Croatia

Croatia is integrated into the EuroVelo network of cycling routes which connect the entire European continent through 17 cycling routes with the length of 90 thousand kilometres, through 42 European countries.


The marked routes throughout the whole Europe can be used by tourists for trips and multiday journeys as well as the local population who pass shorter sections of the EuroVelo route for everyday cycling or enjoying biking excursions along them.

Four EuroVelo routes pass through Croatia:

  • EuroVelo 6 (Atlantic Ocean – Black Sea, known as the Danube Route)
  • EuroVelo 13 (The Iron Curtain Trail)
  • EuroVelo 8 (The Mediterranean Route)
  • EuroVelo 9 (Baltic – Adriatic Sea)

Also being prepared is the new Sava Route from the source to the mouth of the river, which passes through three capital cities - Ljubljana, Zagreb and Belgrade. 

The Croatian section of the route covers the entire coast from Istria to Dubrovnik, 1116 kilometres long, while the total length of the entire Mediterranean route, from Cadiz to Cyprus, is about 7500 km and passes through the most attractive areas of eleven countries in the Mediterranean region: Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece and Cyprus.

"I am pleased with the increased interest in cycling tourism because of its ecological component, but also because with such tourist products we can prolong the tourist season, which is one of the tourism development goals" said Ms Nikolina Brnjac, Minister of Tourism and Sports.

For more information (in croatian) read here.

Find out more about Eurovelo here.